Wonder Wheel

I think I’ve been out to Coney Island more in the past three months than in all of my time in New York to this point. First was a long run with TNT out to the boardwalk early in May. Then I’ve run out there on my own, plus finished up the Brooklyn Half Marathon there. Then Will and I met some friends out there for the season opener for the Brooklyn Cyclones, and last Monday we returned to Keyspan Stadium to see Wilco perform. Finally, on Friday night I joined a lovely group of cyclists to brave the rain and fog to ride out to the island and enjoy the fireworks (which are set off from the beach every Friday night in the summer), a ride on the fabled Wonder Wheel, and some junk food and beer at a boardwalk dive bar. I have to say, my affection for the place grows with each visit. Photo above is from a daytime bike ride Will and I took out to the boardwalk back in September for my very first ride on the Wheel. I think my fear of heights is abating enough to go on the sliding cars next time…

