I made a decision the other day to keep training with the TNT marathon group instead of the half-marathon group. I’ve gotten to be better friends with that bunch, I like the extra challenge, and I figure if I’m able to run 20+ miles by June, then the 13.1 of my race will be a breeze.

So today’s run with the intermediate marathon group took us out of Prospect Park, down 9th Street through Park Slope, along the Gowanus Canal (3rd Avenue), down Atlantic Avenue into Downtown Brooklyn, across the Brooklyn Bridge into Tribeca, and up the West Side Highway to Houston Street. And then back again. It was a chilly but sunny morning, the view both ways across the bridge was postcard-perfect, and the company was pleasant enough to distract me from the fact that I had willingly left my cozy bed to run 12 miles while most of my friends were still snoring.

And then, of course, per my aforementioned pattern, we happily devoured plates of bagels, eggs, cheese, and bacon, and then I went home, showered, napped, and am now awaiting the arrival of friends visiting for the afternoon from Connecticut. Saturdays are good days!

On the fund-raising front, I’m almost at $1,400, which is almost my halfway point. I’m extremely pleased with that amount and grateful to the friends and associates who’ve given so far, but I still have a long way to go. Give it if you got it! Link is in the sidebar.

