Apologies for the hiatus…life has been good, busy, etc., full of Reading, Watching, Listening, and Eating. I just haven’t felt much need or interest in the Sharing part of that.

But I feel the need to post an update on my TNT training, which is, of course, my all-consuming project for the next few months. The group runs have been going great, and I’m making some very cool new friends. I especially like how laid-back and fun-loving everyone is; we train hard, then troop en-sweaty-masse to the nearest bar (after Wednesday night workouts) or restaurant (Saturday morning workouts) for food and drink. This is my kind of team! I can definitely feel myself getting stronger; during last week’s workout I even outpaced the guys on push-ups, and I can now run an easy 7+ miles with plenty of energy left over.

Sometimes, instead of our regular Saturday workouts, we participate in races sponsored by the New York Road Runners, which has been a new one on me. A few weeks ago was my very first race ever, and it was so much more fun than I expected! It was just a 5K, so it was an easy distance; the hard part was elbowing my way through a throng of 5,000 runners in order to maintain my pace. Next weekend is an 8K in Central Park, which will probably be even more crowded.

And fund raising has picked up again after a week or so of stagnation, and now I’m well on my way to the halfway mark. The key, unfortunately, seems to be repeated “asks,” which I really dislike; I hate to be a nag on any subject, and asking for money is especially squirmy for me. But, as the cliche goes, the squeaky wheel gets the oil, and it does indeed seem to be the case here. So guys, if you want me to leave you alone, just throw a few bucks my way! The link to my giving page is in the sidebar.

