I’ve been very sparse in my posting lately, but it’s not for lack of activity. I’ve just been busy. Anyhow, in the past week or two I’ve liked the following:

  • The delicious mushroom soup I made the other night. It was only a handful of ingredients but came out so rich and tasty that I know it’ll be a winter go-to.
  • The annual food issue of the New Yorker arrived at our house yesterday. I’m halfway through Calvin Trillin’s piece on Texas barbecue, and it’s great.
  • Last night I had a delightful dinner with a woman who was a good friend of mine in high school, but with whom I lost touch about 15 years ago. Another old friend of hers came along and was very cool, so not only did I revive an old friendship, I had the bonus of forging a new one.
  • Cold weather has arrived, so it’s time to start knitting. Another longtime friend has started a nonprofit that supplies clothing for needy children in her rural community, so I think I’ll whip up some hats and scarves for the kiddies. I’ll do some good in the world and use up surplus yarn (of which I have a lot).
  • Running outside is fun when there’s a nip in the air, and I’ve been enjoying my weekly evening runs with a friend, all the more so because she’s in better shape than I am and challenges me to run faster than I would on my lazy own.
  • I’ve begun watching season 1 of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. It’s hilarious and makes me want to explore that city further. I’m ashamed to say I’ve only been there twice since I’ve moved up here.

That’s it off the top of my head.

