It’s official: the Yankees cannot win any game I attend. We’re 4 for 4 now, over the span of about five years. Not that I especially care; I don’t root against them exactly, but I’m definitely not a fan. I do, however, enjoy going to ball games, so when my girlfriend called me at 9:30 this morning to tell me she had two free tickets for this afternoon’s game, and that the seats were three rows behind home plate, I ditched the day’s lengthy to-do list and headed up to the Bronx. I knew I’d probably never again get to sit where servers deliver burgers and beer to your seat or close enough to study Hideki Matsui’s craggy cheeks while he warmed up to bat:

My man Matsui.

My man Matsui.

Or to enjoy the subtle play of light across Derek Jeter’s hindquarters:

Derek Jeter, for once not advertising something.

Derek Jeter, for once not advertising something.

And alas, after a very strong start, the Yankees’ pitching took a tumble about halfway through the game, and they blew their lead to finish behind Toronto, 7-6.

