No matter how old I get, I think I’ll always have that little back-to-school thrill every time Labor Day weekend rolls around. Roll your eyes and whisper “nerd” all you want, but I see the symbolic start of fall as a time of new beginnings, of making progress in one’s life. Also, of course, it’s a time for new clothes, something that was a rare treat in my financially lean childhood. On top of all that, fall and winter clothes have always been my favorite. I’ll take sweaters, tights, and boots over sundresses, shorts, and sandals any day of the week. To that end, I took advantage of my final summer Friday to run down to SoHo and my beloved Uniqlo to pick up some T-shirts and FOUR pairs of tights, even though I know I won’t be wearing them for a couple of months yet.

I’m disproportionately excited about tights this year, by the way. I don’t usually take part in the fashion trends of the moment, but I read something in a well-respected ladymag a few months back that made me do a little skip of joy: apparently, brightly colored tights will be very “in” this fall and winter. Most of my readers have only known me as a grown-up in jeans or sensible black tights, but back in the late 80s and early 90s my “look” consisted largely of shabby vintage dresses or old-man pants cut off at the knee (ahem, years before Marc Jacobs became famous for glamorizing grunge) paired with the brightest tights I could get my hands on. I don’t think I’ll go back to the thrift-store look, but I’m thrilled that colorful tights will be widely available for adults again so that I can liven my sober black skirts and brown suede boots with a flash of plum- or mustard-colored (two of the colors I bought today) leg.

