So here I am in the final stretch of my training, and I’m not sure how I feel at this point. Ever since we got back from our trip, I’ve been running really well, with huge improvements in pace. Last week’s 9-miler wasn’t easy by any stretch, but I did it at a fair pace; my shorter runs this week have been much faster and very easy, even at 5+ miles. Today I ran 10 miles–first double-digit run ever, woo!–but for some reason I was embarrassingly slow. I can’t even chalk it up to fatigue, because I could tell from the very start how heavy and plodding my pace was. I just didn’t feel like running today. I guess I should be happy, though, that I made it the whole distance, and I didn’t get any side cramps or other less delicate runners’ issues. But next Sunday I have to run the whole 13.1, which is a big distance increase from one week to the next. A seasoned marathoner I chatted with at a party last night said that after you can run 10 miles, 13 isn’t much of a leap, so I’ll take her word for it.

