You all are getting your weekly dose of squirrel culture a day early, as I will be packing up my bushy tail and heading for points north and east for the next ten days. Better to get it early than late or not at all!

This week’s squirrel Googling has led me to the charming upstate hamlet of Olean, New York, which has jumped on the fund-raising bandwagon of many cities large and small and decided to offer oversize fiberglass animals for local businesses to sponsor and decorate. And what have they chosen as the scary-large creature for their Woodland in the City program? Squirrels! Below are a few standouts that have been decorated so far (sorry for the poor picture quality–this is the best they have on their Web site):

A fluffy-tailed Ronald McDonald? Clown phobia!

A fluffy-tailed Ronald McDonald? Clown phobia!

This one is called Cutter--I'm a little scared of a five-foot-tall cleaver-wielding squirrel!
This one is called Cutter–I’m a little scared of a five-foot-tall cleaver-wielding squirrel!
OK, I actually like this guy. Valiant Squirrel!

OK, I actually like this guy. Valiant Squirrel!

It’s always nice when a town can rally ’round the squirrels. I’ll be checking in every few months to see whether they’ve added any new characters.
