I’ve decided to implement another new regular feature in addition to Squirrel Wednesday. As any reader of this blog knows, I love to eat and cook, but what may not be apparent is my tendency to fixate on one dish, or even one ingredient. I get this from my dad, who will spend months making batch after batch of one food (chicken stock, fried chicken, baguettes, chocolate-chip cookies, etc.) until he feels he’s achieved the Platonic ideal. I don’t go that far (except for with my fried tofu or attempts to achieve the perfect soft-boiled egg), but my enthusiasm for a certain ingredient will ensure that it sneaks into at least one meal a day until I get sick of it or get distracted by some new deliciousness.

So, to make a long story short, I am inaugurating I Just Can’t Get Enough, my periodic reporting on the food love affair du jour, and will try to include a recipe or two. For the past week, it’s been frozen blueberries, ever since I read the much-discussed 11 Best Foods You Aren’t Eating list. I’ve been eating almost all the foods on the list, but the blueberries are clear frontrunners. As for a “recipe,” I’m not racing around making pies or anything; frozen blueberries are good just as-is; they’re so small you can eat them without defrosting. So here’s my current favorite breakfast preparation:

1/2 cup plain yogurt
drizzle of honey
sprinkling (a tablespoon or two?) of slivered almonds
1/2 cup of frozen blueberries

Does is get tastier or more nutritious?

