One of these days, I might make a recipe straight from what is on the page in front of me, but I just can’t help tweaking the instructions, ingredients, and proportions (which is why I have so little interest in baking). Anyhow, I found this recipe for white bean dip on the New York Times cooking blog and thought it looked good; we’re having a guest over for pre-dinner cocktails later, so I figured I’d make this to go along with the requisite cheese and crackers (and smoked salmon and grapes and cherries). My version is below, with comments on how it deviates from the original, which I’m sure is also very good:

1 can cannelini beans, drained and rinsed (scant 2 cups)
zest of 2 lemons
1 to 2 garlic scapes, minced (original calls for 1 to 3 raw garlic cloves, but that seems like it might be too strong; plus, I had the scapes on hand, so figured the more delicate flavor would work better here; if you can’t find scapes, I think chives would work great)
1 large sprig of mint (original calls for minced fresh rosemary; I didn’t have any on hand, but have a potted mint that is overflowing its container)
a few tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (original calls for 1/4 cup plus a tbsp, which sounded heavy to me)
juice of 1 lemon (not in original; to supply moistness and flavor from oil I cut from the recipe)
salt and pepper

To assemble: throw it all in a food processor and whizz it around until it’s smooth; alternatively, you could just mush it all together with a fork for a more rustic texture. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

