So we’re coming up on 24 hours of letting my cream and buttermilk mixture sit out on the counter, waiting for it to magically transform into the tangy sour cream that isn’t sour cream, but it’s still pourable. According to several Web sites I’ve consulted, it seems that the ultra-pasteurization of the heavy cream is probably to blame; I’d actually already read that before starting, but that was the only cream available, and my buttermilk is “minimally” pasteurized, so I figured that would cancel out the ultra, or at least mitigate it. I’m determined not to cheat by whipping my cream, so I decided to help the delicious spoilage along by popping it in the microwave for a minute. Sure enough, dramatic (although still insufficient) thickening happened. So we’ll see what one more night on the counter does to my crème…

