Today I decided to use the peas in a simple soup recipe I found a few months back. Good thing it only called for 1/2 cup of peas, because the nearly one pound of pods I bought (at an obscene price) yielded exactly that. I was so excited to see the first peas of the season that I didn’t stop to think that the little guys inside the pods would be woefully runty. Still, it was a nice, light soup for a warm evening, followed by a plate of red grapes, fresh strawberries, crackers, and a powerfully smelly Alsatian cheese. Soup recipe below (slightly modified from the one linked above):

3/4 cup farro (all I had on hand)
1 can chicken broth plus 1 cup water
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil
handful of parsley, minced
salt and pepper
grated Parmesan

Saute onions and garlic in the olive oil over medium heat for a few minutes; add broth, water, and farro, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 30 minutes or until farro is al dente. Add parsley and peas and continue to simmer until peas are heated through and bright green, a few minutes longer. Serve with grated cheese.

I’ve also just begun my first attempt at creme fraiche, with a recipe found on epicurious.com. It’s just a cup of whipping cream with 2 tbsp of buttermilk, covered and left to work its magic on the counter overnight. I’m curious to see whether I’ll have the real thing by morning…

