I made my weekly pilgrimage to the Grand Army Plaza greenmarket this morning and was pleased to find that rhubarb and sugar peas are finally available. I picked up a quart of strawberries at the co-op the other day, so decided to spend this muggy, stormy day making stawberry rhubarb compote. I adapted a recipe from the Smitten Kitchen (hers is linked from the name) and am thrilled with the results:

1 lb pink rhubarb stalks, ends trimmed and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 lb strawberries, hulled and chopped
1/3 cup white sugar
2 tbsp honey
zest and juice of 1 lemon

Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat and stir well. The berries and rhubarb will begin to give off a lot of liquid; bring to a rolling boil and stir for at least 5 minutes, until mixture starts to thicken. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring often, for another 25 minutes or so. Remove from heat and let cool, uncovered, to room temperature. Transfer to a covered container and chill.

Theoretically, this will keep for a few weeks, but I doubt it will survive more than a few days in this house–tonight we’re going to have it over rice pudding, and I plan to make a batch of creme fraiche in the next day or two to enjoy with this sweet-tart sauce. I also have dreams of stirring a few spoonfuls into oatmeal, over ice cream, over pancakes…

