I was proud of myself for getting up early yesterday and riding my bike up to the greenmarket by 8:30 am. I was there in time to score a lovely bunch of ramps, among other things. I knew I needed to put them to good use, seeing as I paid $8 for half a pound of this springtime delicacy. I remembered seeing a recipe for lemon chicken on Simply Recipes (one of my favorite recipe sites) that would make a nice, spring-y anchor for the meal and use up the organic chicken thighs I’d just purchased. Tonight’s dinner ended up thus:

On the side I made some farro and smothered it with the ramps, shallots (also from the greenmarket), mushrooms, and grape tomatoes sauteed in a little bit of butter and olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper. It’s best to keep things simple with ingredients like this. We washed it all down with a bottle of vinho verde from Trader Joe’s, a tremendous bargain at $3.99 per bottle. If any of my ten readers have access to ramps, run out and buy some immediately, as they’ll be out of season in the next week or two. The price is steep, but worth it.

