I generally ignore the Thursday Home & Garden section of the Times–I have an appreciation of good interior design, but when it comes to my own home, “decorating” means straightening the magazines on the coffee table and hanging a few pictures. But today this photo caught my eye:

This is from some designer showcase thing happening on the Upper East Side. At first I thought it was some wacky retro wallpaper (you children of the 70s will surely remember the shiny wallpaper that sometimes showed up in bathrooms), but then realized it’s the tops of tin cans. Creative! Of course, the acoustics must be dreadful, and woe betide anyone who leans up against that wall, but still. It’s cool to see something so DIY make it into a show house that’s probably otherwise filled with prohibitively expensive “premium” materials.

