I had a lovely quiet day to myself yesterday, as Will was off to Connecticut to see a concert with my father. It was pretty cold outside, so I decided to try Mark Bittman’s Winter Tomato Soup recipe from his column in this week’s Times Food Section. Of course, I had to modify it to suit myself; his recipe is linked above, my version follows below:

1 28-oz. can whole plum tomatoes (make sure they don’t have any added basil or other seasonings)
Olive oil
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
4 large cloves garlic, minced
2 smallish carrots, peeled and minced
2 1/2 cups vegetable stock
Salt & pepper

Heat oven to 375; drain tomatoes, reserving liquid, and cut them in half in a small roasting/baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle lightly with sea salt and roast for about 30-40 minutes, until juices caramelize and edges of tomatoes begin to char slightly.

In a small stock pot, sautee onions in  a little more olive oil for about 10 minutes, or until they begin to caramelize slightly. Add garlic and carrots and sautee a few more minutes. Add tomatoes, reserved juice, and most of the stock. Deglaze the roasting pan with a little more stock and add that to the soup. Simmer everything for about 30 minutes and then puree (a stick blender works best). Adjust seasonings. Serve garnished with goat cheese and chopped scallions.

