While on my little vacation, I also did some cooking. Will’s aunt and uncle arrived from Vermont on Thursday bearing a huge bag of produce from their garden. Among the veggies were two lovely yellow-green scallop squash (I think they may have been starship squash?) that needed to be used up. So Will and I sliced them very thinly, steamed the slices briefly, then layered them in a gratin dish with grated parmesan cheese, finely chopped parsley and chives, salt and pepper, and a spare drizzle of olive oil. We baked it for about 10 minutes at 375, then broiled it on high for about 5 minutes. I wish I had taken a picture of it, because it was beautiful, and delicious if I do say so.

Then today, I visited the tiny but impressive new farmers’ market in my neighborhood (finally, a greenmarket open on Sundays!) and picked up some tomatoes, zucchini, small red onions, and a huge bunch of basil. I did the same preparation described above with these ingredients, with different but equally tasty results and plenty left over for lunch tomorrow.

