Will has joined a new file-sharing–er, bit torrent–group and now has access to even more archives of obscure free music. This morning he challenged me to request a long-lost favorite band or album for him to find on the site, and the first thing that popped into my head was Craps, by Boston band Big Dipper. bigdip31.jpgI loved this album when I was a sophomore in high school. Boston filled the indie-music gap between the big music scenes of New York of the late 70s to early 80s and Seattle of the early 90s. During my high school years Boston, Providence, and New Haven were supporting the growth of such great bands as the Pixies, Throwing Muses, Miracle Legion, Blake Babies, Lemonheads, and many, many more.

It was a pretty exciting scene for an otherwise very bored kid from a small town an hour north of the city, and I haunted the record stores and clubs there every chance I could get. So when Will burned this CD for me this morning, it immediately transported me back to when I was 15, sitting in my bedroom with my crummy tape deck, listening to noisy pop/rock. In heavy rotation was “Ron Klaus Wrecked His House,” which I now share with you:

Big Dipper, “Ron Klaus Wrecked His House”

