There have been a number of extra-annoying items in the local media lately delivering little backhanded smacks to my beloved Brooklyn. A few weeks ago I was handed the New York Times’ real estate magazine with an innocent “There’s a big article about Brooklyn in here you might be interested in.” I read the first line:

Mario Procida’s new building has park views, multimillion-dollar apartments and Manhattan’s hottest architect. Just one thing: It’s in Brooklyn.

And tossed the magazine away in disgust. The title of the piece is “Betting on Star Power.” Granted, the real tenor of the piece is the risk this developer is taking by selling apartments for more than market rate because of the building’s marquee architect (Richard Meier). But that lede really rankled–it’s a beautiful building in a beautiful city overlooking a beautiful park. Why is its location in Brooklyn portrayed as a caveat? And then I saw this piece in AM New York by way of Gawker:

“I looked at places in every possible neighborhood expect for the Upper East Side,” said Hassell, 24. “We saw one in Park Slope that we really liked. It was huge.”

“Kellen really liked it,” said Hvam, 26. “We sat and got coffee and we were talking about it — and I literally started crying. I said, ‘I don’t want to move to Brooklyn. I want to stay in Manhattan. We’ve only been here for a year.'”

So they decided to refocus their search, and eventually moved into a 295-square-foot apartment on 15th Street, between Seventh and Eighth avenues, for $1,675 per month.

And again I railed inwardly–why do they see moving to one of the loveliest neighborhoods in all of the five boroughs as such a terrible defeat that they’d rather live in a broom closet in Chelsea? Then I stopped and realized that I love Brooklyn so much because people like that stay on their side of the river. I never once considered living in Manhattan, not even when I first moved here and didn’t know Brooklyn at all. I love the diversity, the way scrappiness and dignity coexist here, the architecture, the history–I even sort of love now that the hipster doofuses I maligned below want to lie and say they live in the crappiest parts of Brooklyn. That’s better than people who pay insane amounts of money to brag that they live in Tribeca, though it might be their super’s storage closet.

