So, instead of running to Target to buy sweatshop-made fashion today, I walked in the other direction and joined my neighborhood food co-op so I could start getting discounts on organic, fair-trade food. The Flatbush Food Co-op is a shaggy little storefront a few blocks from our house; it’s been open for more than 30 years and carries pretty much everything I need, at the same prices as C-Town, and is open more hours. It put me in such a crunchy, new-agey mood that I was inspired to buy a little tub of miso paste and run home to make my favorite simple soup, the recipe for which I share below:

2 garlic cloves, minced
3 scallions, thinly sliced (include greens)
2 small carrots, thinly sliced
1 cup of mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated

Sautee all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat in 1 Tbsp olive oil; meanwhile, dissolve 2 Tbsp light miso paste in a little hot water. Once vegetables are crisp-tender, add miso and another 3 1/2 cups of water. Heat through, but do not boil. Variations would include spinach, kale, seaweed, bok choy, peas, and/or tofu. Some people like to splash a little sherry or rice wine in there as well.

