Single or coupled, I’ve never put much stock in Valentine’s Day–to me, it’s always just been manufactured fuss on an arbitrary day (on the other hand, I have an unholy fear of being alone on New Year’s Eve). But still, it’s hard to resist making some nice little gesture among friends and loved ones, and last night ended up being a really great V-day. I bought a nice bunch of flowers after work and was greeted at home by a delicious eggplant stew, a nice bottle of Burgundy, and Will + Casper & the Cookies, good friends from Georgia who are playing a show here tonight. The six of us passed a pleasant evening eating, listening to music, looking at baseball cards, playing with Matchbox cars, and watching the truly surreal Withnail & I. I’ll add photos to this post later in the day.

