Mrs. Brown turned it right back around on me; it’s pretty similar to the last list, but I’ll give it a go–five little-known personal (but not too personal) facts about me:

  1. I made it to the New Hampshire state spelling bee when I was in the 8th grade. Due to the turmoil of psyche and body wrought by television cameras and menstrual cramps, I was the first one out, on the shamefully simple “cornea.” I have had a terrible fear of cameras and public speaking ever since.
  2. Before the scarring experience of the spelling bee, I happily performed in several stage musicals–in a real theater, not school plays.
  3. Growing up in a house with two woodstoves made me so afraid of fire as a child that I never lit a match until my sophomore year of high school.
  4. When I was in middle school, I had a beautiful cat named Mitch who I used to take to cat shows. He won two ribbons and an African violet.
  5. When I was about 7 or 8 years old, I rode an elephant in the opening parade of the Clyde Beatty Cole Bros. Circus.

Eh, I don’t know whom to tag…except Will. Internal tag! And Stephanie. She started all this.

