Finally! A clothing store that’s cheap, fun, and convenient to my office. A few weeks ago, Japanese import Uniqlo opened its “world flagship” store on lower Broadway, and it’s nearly impossible for me to walk past without at least buying a pair of socks (2 pairs for $4!). It’s kind of like H&M, except the clothes are for grownups (yet still quirky) and are well made. There are cute t-shirts; reasonably priced cashmere sweaters in every possible color, stacked 20 feet high; puffy, furry jackets; stripey gloves…I could go on and on. I think they redesign the store nearly every day. It’s been different every time I’ve gone in, and I don’t think there’s been more than 3 days between visits.

There’s only one drawback, and I think it could hurt the store’s expansion through the heartland: With Japanese cuteness comes Japanese sizing. By American standards, I’m a reasonably petite person (size 4); to Japanese designers, I’m a big old Fatty McFatpants (I’d rather not share the size). But I’m just too in love with the styles and the prices there, so I’m going to suck it up and try to remind myself that size, like age, is just a number.

