It’s been ages since I had some good, fresh eggplant, so I was pleased to see bins of beautiful little baby ones at the greenmarket this Saturday. I bought a small bag and finally had a moment to myself this evening to cook them up. I was tired and hungry, so decided to go quick and easy. I peeled and cubed them, sauteed them with some olive oil and garlic, and then simmered them for about 45 minutes in some good imported canned tomatoes with fresh basil and crushed red pepper. I cooked up a quick helping of angel hair pasta and served the sauce over the top with a little Parmesan cheese. The young eggplant had become almost silky without disintegrating into mush. If I’d had more time, I would have gone all the way with an eggplant parmesan, but that’s more of a winter Sunday afternoon affair. Maybe I’ll treat myself to that for my birthday.

