Last night, I joined a few friends for an early dinner at the landmark Tea & Sympathy, a handkerchief-sized shrine to Anglophilia in the West Village. I had heard of this place for some time, but had never made it over before. B was beside herself with joy, as she only treats herself to their famous cream tea (pot of tea, scones, clotted cream, and jam) and steak-and-Guinness pie once or twice a year. The four of us nestled into a corner and tucked into various dishes of steaming pastry, meat, and enormous piles of mashed potatoes. Perhaps a muggy August evening wasn’t the ideal time to experience it, but I was still pretty happy with my serving of bangers and mash, a dish I haven’t enjoyed since I visited Scotland back in 2000. People who are down on British cuisine need only visit the corner of Greenwich and Jane to change their tune. I’ll be back after the first frost.

