I haven’t done anything meme-y in a while, and my running plan has been sidetracked by a thunderstorm. My dishy friend in Miami issued a public tagging on me today, so I must comply. My instructions:

1. Go to Wikipedia.
2. In the Search box, type your birth month and day (but not year).
3. List three events that happened on your birthday.
4. List two important birthdays and one interesting death.
5. One holiday or observance (if any).

So here goes. Interesting dirt on December 12; my comments in brackets:

Three Events
627 – Battle of Nineveh: A Byzantine army under Emperor Heraclius defeated Emperor Khosrau II’s Persian forces, commanded by General Rhahzadh.

1098 – First Crusade: Massacre of Ma’arrat al-Numan – Crusaders breach the town’s walls and massacre about 20,000 inhabitants. After finding themselves with insufficient food, they resort to cannibalism.

2000 – The United States Supreme Court releases its decision in Bush v. Gore [and the U.S. officially starts circling the drain in the eyes of the rest of the world]

Two Important Birthdays

1915 – Frank Sinatra, American singer and actor (d. 1998) [Chairman of the Board–aww, yeah!]
1940 – Dionne Warwick, American singer [and psychic friend]

Interesting Death

1569 – Metropolitan Philip of Moscow (b. 1507) [I have no idea who this is. I just like his name.]

Holiday or Observance

Kenya – Jamhuri Day: Independence Day (from Britain, 1963) [pickins are kind of slim this time of year; nobody wants to compete with Christmas]

I won’t tag anyone specific, but take it and run with it, kids!

