I am not of that proud background myself, but I grew up in southern New Hampshire, in a mill city that was and still is heavily populated by French Canadians. The nuns in my Catholic elementary school taught us Canadian French from the first grade, and my schoolmates throughout my childhood had names like Paradis, Ouelette, Biscornet, DuBois, Cote, and so forth. Unfortunately, this large minority (and in many communities, the majority) became the target of ethnic stereotypes and slurs over the years (this is one of the whitest areas of the country, so I guess the meatheads had to find their targets elsewhere). Now it seems that New Hampshire’s more enlightened eastern neighbor, also home to many of French-Canadian descent, has decided to celebrate its ethnic heritage. Let’s see if Manch can follow suit…

