This has been on my “to watch” list for many years now, and it finally arrived via Netflix earlier this week. As I’ve been under the weather, I decided to stay in and watch it last night.

The best things about this film? The cinematography and great performances by Emily Watson and the late Katrin Cartlidge. I spent a few weeks in far northern Scotland several years ago, and Lars von Trier perfectly captured the bleak beauty of that landscape. The story itself features plenty of von Trier’s trademark fetishized humiliation of women, and was sad enough to get me almost tearing up until the CORNIEST ending I have ever seen. I won’t spoil it for the five other people who haven’t seen this movie yet, but the final 2 minutes of the film completely ruined the rest of it for me on so many levels. If you do decide to watch this, I recommend turning it off right when it seems like it should end, and you have a great, if disturbing, film.

