I read today on The Slate that the BBC is launching a remake series of Dr. Who. I haven’t thought about that show in years, but it was my favorite when I was about 7 or 8 years old. Back then, my parents attempted to slow the brain rot of their young children by limiting network TV viewing to, I think, 2 hours per week. But we were allowed all the PBS we could stand, which for me meant a lot of nature shows and a lot of Dr. Who. My first celebrity crush was on Tom Baker, who, I realized today, bears a striking resemblance to this fellow. Anyway…I couldn’t wait to plunk down in front of the telly to watch Dr. Who zoom through space and time in that old telephone box and battle B-movie monsters and aliens. Christopher Eccleston has been cast as the new Who; I’m a little suspicious of this choice. He’s a fine actor, but seems like he lacks the goofiness that so endeared Tom Baker to nerd girls and fanboys the world over. I don’t have cable, so I’ll have to rely on my nerdy friends to watch and weigh in.

