I meant to post this as a Squirrel Wednesday, but got sidetracked until this morning. As many readers undoubtedly know, the offices of the Discovery Channel were stormed by an “ecoterrorist” yesterday (who did not hurt any of his hostages and has since been taken into custody). He presented the station staff with a list of demands, which, if you can stomach a whole buffet of crazy (with some good points for garnish), you can read here. I skimmed it, and toward the end this caught my eye:

Saving the environment and the remaning species diversity of the planet is now your mindset. Nothing is more important than saving them. The Lions, Tigers, Giraffes, Elephants, Froggies, Turtles, Apes, Raccoons, Beetles, Ants, Sharks, Bears, and, of course, the Squirrels.

OF COURSE, the squirrels!

Update: I’m sorry to say that I was wrong—the eco-warrior was shot and killed by authorities, not taken into custody. He was carrying explosives, so I guess they had to do what they had to do, but still. Sad.

